RMG leader Shafiul Islam’s panel wins majority of the seats in FBCCI election

Staff Correspondent       
Print Friendly

The First Vice-President of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI) and Former BGMEA President Md Shafiul Islam Mohiuddin is going to lead the country’s apex trade body for the next two years.


His panel, the Sammilito Ganatantrik Parishad, bagged a majority of the seats in the election of the board of directors that held on 14 May, 2017 Sunday.  Mohiuddin had been nominated as a director from the Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association.

The election commission chairman Professor Ali Ashraf announced that the Mohiuddin-led panel members won 34 out of the 36 directorial seats. This election to elect the office bearers for the 2017-19 tenure. The election began at 9am and ran until 5pm of 14th May, with no break in between, at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre in Dhaka.

The other panel, Babosayee Oikya Forum, wins two seats one is Irteza Hasan and the other is Helena Jahangir with the National Association of Small and Cottage Industries of Bangladesh.

The 36 directors will elect the FBCCI president from the Association Group, one first vice-president from the Chamber Group, and one vice-president from the Association Group.  The government has already nominated 24 directors – 12 from the Chamber group and 12 from the Association group.

The elected directors from Association group are: Khondokar Moinur Rahman Jewel, SM Jahangir Hossain, Shafquat Haider, Md Abdul Ayes Khan, Md Muntakim Ashraf, Mir Nizam Uddin Ahmed, Amzad Hussain, Md Shafiqul Islam Vorosha, Abu Motaleb, Md Habiubullah Dawn, Khandaker Ruhul Amin, Nizamuddin Rajesh, Hafez Harun, Shomi Kaiser, Md Abu Naser, Rashedul Hossain Chowdhury Roni, Qazi Irteza Hasan and Helena Jahangir.

The elected directors from Chamber group are:  Hasina Newaaz, Md Nizam Uddin, Azizul Hoque, Dilip Kumar Agarwala, Masud Parvez Khan Imran, AKM Shaheed Reza, Md Anwar Sadat Sarker, Sheikh Fazle Fahim, Rezaul Karim Reznu, Gazi Golam Ashria, Shreikh Abdul Hamid, Tabarukul Tosaddek Hossain Khan, Md Kohinoor Isam, Prabir Kumar Saha, Mohd Ataur Rahman Bhuiyan, Mohammad Bazlur Rahman and Abul Kashem Ahmed.

The Supreme Court on Thursday (March 30) canceled the High Court order that suspended the date of FBCCI Election. The last FBCCI election was held on May 23, 2015 which elected current president Abdul Matlub Ahamad.

Copyright Notice

Any unauthorized use or reproduction of Textile Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited and constitutes copyright infringement liable to legal action.