Salim Osman will lead BKMEA again, 27 directors win uncontested

Staff Correspondent        
Print Friendly

The president of the Bangladesh Knitwear Manufacturers and Exporters Association (BKMEA), AKM Salim Osman MP is going to lead the one of country’s apex trade body for two years 2017-19 for the third term in row in one of the most important trade bodies of the country. The full panel of the 27 directors of Salim Osman lead panel has been elected uncontested.


The BKMEA election was scheduled on 9 September 2017, but there is no need to take the vote because there are no other candidates against the 27th position. As a result, they were initially elected. Now it is only a matter of time for the formal announcement on September 9. 2017.

Figure: Salim Osman and his panel at the BKMEA office.
Figure: Salim Osman and his panel at the BKMEA office.

On 5 August 2017, Salim Osman panel submitted their nomination paper to the election commissioner. The president and 3 vice-president will be elected on August 25. Now the effective member post has been created in BKMEA.

The Election Board was formed to appoint former Vice President Mohammad Ali as Chairman. FBCCI Director Prabir Kumar Saha; NCC Director Md. Rashed Sarwar; Narayanganj Bar Association Chairman Masudur Rauf; Narayanganj Yarn Merchants Association President Liton Saha was the member of Election Appellate Board.

The last BKMEA election was held on August, 2014 which elected current president AKM Salim Osman MP.

Copyright Notice

Any unauthorized use or reproduction of Textile Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited and constitutes copyright infringement liable to legal action.